Header Image

About Jen


Hello my name is Jennifer Kelsch and I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW-R) in the state of New York. I graduated from Stony Brook University with my graduate degree in Social Work in 2005. I studied psychology and music in my undergraduate education which began at Suffolk Community College in 1999 and I completed my bachelor’s degree in psychology at Dowling College in 2002. I enjoy working with children, adolescents, and adults through multiple treatment techniques including individual and family therapy using an eclectic approach tailored to the unique needs of each client. I have more than 15 years of experience in a variety of settings with diverse clients. Currently my practice is limited only to telehealth (virtual) sessions.

There are so many changes that happen in one’s life, especially as families grow and develop with the passing years, and I am here to help! My primary treatment approach is cognitive behavioral therapy which is focusing on the development of personal coping strategies that targets solving current problems and changing unhelpful patterns in thoughts, beliefs, and attitudes. In addition, I enjoy incorporating the creative outlets of art, music, writing and meditation into the therapeutic process. Positive change happens when people are given the guidance they need to utilize their own strengths and realize their potential to live fulfilling, happy lives. I provide an environment of trust, compassion, and support to help individuals and families overcome obstacles to move forward and thrive. I am a firm believer in the process of therapy and chasing one's dreams!

I am a queer practitioner and love working with a diverse clientele. My experience includes helping clients face a variety of obstacles including the exploration of gender identity and transition, sexual orientation and the process of coming out, relationship issues, school related issues, depression and anxiety, . My specialty area is working with children, adolescents, and young adults within the LGBTQ community. I provide a safe environment for children to explore who they are and how to live the happiest life possible. I guide each client through self-discovery, the process of coming out, and/or transitioning, while providing support to the client’s family and support system throughout this process.

I live on Long Island with my wife and two children. During my free time, I enjoy playing games with my children, playing music, and swimming. I am an avid METS fan but enjoy all sports. I look forward to speaking with you!